Mis-Shapes And Standing On Necks….

9 Jul

So I woke up Friday, usual monotonous morning routine, two coffees, shower, brushing teeth and leaving with plenty of time to get to work. Upon leaving the house, adjusting my headphones as I normally do, I decided I would go with the shuffle option on my iPod, really the greatest invention since music itself. The first song to tease and pleasure my big lug’oles on this fine sunny morning came from an album by the name of ‘A Different Class’ by Pulp, it was track 1. Mis-Shapes. If ever I needed a sign of the day ahead, this was certainly it.

Followed quickly by what seemed a flurry of good tunes, I was quickly brought back down to earth by arriving at work. Not all was lost, my very close friend Glen, of the Wilson Clan, had confirmed he was coming along with me that night to the Purple Turtle, Camden. So through the day I confirmed our names on the list, got back to Enfield with time to spare and we set off via bus to Camden, got to the venue about half nine, and in we went, reasonable prices, good vibes and good people. Good people with the exception of some guys that had blatantly been out all day in the sun and wandered in off the street, handing their entrance fees over and then making nuisances of themselves. Whilst stood with my mate Dan, I was fully expecting him to politely ask if ‘any of them would like him to stand on their necks?’ It wasn’t needed as the bouncers saw the problem and ejected it. So if next time you’re in Camden and happen to see some lads walking around with crepe sole imprints on their neck, you know what happened.

Time for the first act of the night, I was surprised to see my mate Nick Mercer, formerly of Sergeant, hitting the stage with his acoustic guitar and playing some of his earlier hits and more. A very promising start to the proceedings, I’m no gig reviewer but, I would say that his set got me in the mood for the rest of the evening.
A short break followed, enough time for a cigarette outside and to talk about boots, necks and things of that nature. Up next was the Stone Thieves, a good name in my opinion, which instantly grabs my attention. Now I must confess I have actually seen these before this night, but was so drunk the last time my conscious being had no recollection, photographic evidence was needed for it to be proved to me. The sound was spot on, I know they had a couple of issues with the monitors, but out front sounded good. They have the look and that very brash, ‘let’s fuckin av’it’ sound. An enjoyable set with minimal casualties, I will definitely be out to see these boys again.
Now the final band of the night, I had not heard of until the day before, when Phil, Co-Founder of Mis-Shapes, had mentioned them in a message to me, told me they were superb. You obviously expect to hear that, but what I saw did not let his words down. K E Y S were superb, fucking superb. Unlike anyone i have seen in a while, psyche, blues, rock ‘n’ roll, every tune was a banger. Thoroughly enjoyed them. Looked and sounded awesome.

A very brief rundown of the night, probably doesn’t do the acts much justice, but this monthly night Mis-Shapes is one of the best nights around London for showcasing the best up and coming talent from all over the country, I say this without any sarcasm or cynicism, only sincerity.  I went to the first one at the Buffalo Bar a few months back and saw The Merrylees, a particular Mis-Shapes highlight for me, I strongly advise you to check them out if you haven’t already. I am yet to see a dud. The Mis-Shapes resident DJ’s, Co-Founders of the night, Joe and Phil have clearly got a very good knowledge of music, and the sets between bands and for the rest of the evening after the bands finish are a lesson into music themselves, and I defy anyone not into this scene to not enjoy the music on show, whether it be the bands or DJ’s, even their guest DJ’s smash it whether in the form of Svengali’s Johnny Owen or Shameless’ Micky, plus more. A perfect mixture of what is relevant and what made it come to be relevant, timeless tunes and classics that just never go out of fashion, predictable hits with obscurities that make you fall in love with this music, these bands, these nights over and over again.

With a recent move into the bigger, and in my opinion better, Purple Turtle venue in Camden, to allow for those Mis- Shapers that have had trouble getting into previous nights, even turned away because of the previous venue not having the space for the amount of people coming to throw oblong big fish little fish all over the gaff.
Surely this night is only going to go from strength to strength, I happen to know who some of the upcoming acts are going to be, my only advice is ‘you would be mad to miss it!’

Anyway people, it was nice talking to you again, August the 2nd is the next do with the fabulous Edgar Jones playing, this is a do not to be missed people.
I have added links to some of the groups mentioned and the nights Facebook page which has all the relevant info for you fine people to join us in this shapely revolution.

Until next time, be good to each other people.

Peace and Love,

James,

x

https://www.facebook.com/MisShapesClub?fref=ts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQjv-y9Iqq0

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheMerrylees

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AP3OsN7WftE

Leave a Reply

